Touch-off plate for CNC router?

Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: Touch-off plate for CNC router?

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Touch-off plate for CNC router?

I've been playing with EMC2 while waiting for my CNC parts to arrive so I'm very new to EMC2, but from the sounds of it, it is very customizable. One of the cool add-ons I've come across for a CNC router is a touch off plate to accurately adjust the z height for the current tool bit.

I can find information on using a touch-off plate with Mach3 and how to add a custom screen for that application, but I haven't seen anything specific on how to accomplish the same thing using EMC2. The closest I've come across is adding probe functionality to EMC2.

Has anyone configured/customized EMC2 to use a touch-off plate? Care to share how it's done?

Regards,

Dean.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

The probe is what you want..

There is a sample g-code program showing how to set tool lengths.

http://cvs.linuxcnc.org/cvs/emc2/nc_...ngth-probe.ngc

I have used this for making circuit boards. Once the first tool length is known - the rest are referenced from that.

(I use a microswitch)

sam

Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the link! It's going to take me a little while to wrap my head around the g-codes and whatnot, but it does look like it'll do what I was asking.

Downloads
    Uploads

I've been looking over that code and I'm starting to understand it, but the implementation of it still leaves me puzzled. I use the AXIS interface and I can only see two ways to implement that touch-off gcode. One way would be to type in those gcodes line by line on the MDI interface and the other would be, even before launching EMC2, to do a search on the G-code file and insert that code snippet after every toolchange command. Is there a cleaner way?

I was envisioning the following:
    I secure my workpiece to the table