Need Help! Choosing the right rails for rigitdity !

Thread: Choosing the right rails for rigitdity !

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Choosing the right rails for rigitdity !

Finally I am gonna embark on the CNC building journey been a dream for so long. I feel I should just start the project. I don't have any fancy tools just a B&D jigsaw / a bosch hand drill / Makita RT0700c trim router. I am an EE and been designing CAD for a really good while now.
    Disclaimer : Don't hate me for the crude drawings and handwriting my PC is down so I am going analog. (typing on a really antic laptop)
    I have gone through numerous threads/articles over the years and did some research on the building a CNC a lot of you here have inspired me
    For a lack of CAD I am gonna use this design as a reference for you Building your own CNC router/milling machine - All.
    I feel there are a few flaws in the design. I am no mechanical engineer so I have arrived to the conclusion just using my common sense.
    1. He uses HGH25CA really huge Linear block. I feel that I can get by with using 2 of HGH15CA instead of HGH25CA or HGH20CA which seems to be the popular choice in the forum. Am I wrong ?
    2. He uses only one Block per Axis. Even though HIWIN blocks are rigid as chuck I feel there might be some twisting action on the blocks. So I plan on using 2 blocks now and in the future 3(after I save up more money). This will increase the number of point of contacts and make it more rigid. Am I right to assume that ? Or would the difference not really matter. I love them accuracy and precision.