What laser controller to use?

Thread: What laser controller to use?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default What laser controller to use?

I'm starting to plan my laser cutting machine and I would like some recommendation on what laser controller should I use.

I'm looking for a reliable and accurate controller.

Are any of theses controller good?

RuiDa RDC6442G
    MPC6525A
    LightObject T9 DSP controller

I will be doing so small cuts but most engraving

Thanks for the help.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: What laser controller to use?

Ruida RDC6442G has a lot of support, and RD Works forums and Facebook groups for the software- and does not need a dongle. It is a good controller.
    I have no experience with the others, but believe the Light Object one is also good.

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm in the same situation. I'm looking for a laser controller that will handle 3 axis and control power level of the laser using Mach3. Did you have any luck finding a good controller?

Downloads
    Uploads

I was running mach3 to smoothstepper and then to G540. this setup can go between a laser or a router.
    I recently switched over to AWC708C and finding it to work really well. I haven't tested the support capabilities of Light Object but I think you have to know a decent amount before you take this on. I wouldn't buy something off ebay if you don't know much or don't want the hassle of searching for software.

you really can't use Mach3 with these controllers and I haven't seen a reason why you would need to.
    One thing I discovered last night, and posted to the lightobject forum, is that you need a very high resolution stepper driver. they call them digital drives and have a very high pulse count.
    I mention this because I don't recall reading that anywhere, but your shapes will come out distorted if you don't use them. The resolution required is way above a 3D printer.