Newbie Lagun FTV-2 with ProtoTRAK MX2

Thread: Lagun FTV-2 with ProtoTRAK MX2

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Lagun FTV-2 with ProtoTRAK MX2

Hi All,

Long time reader, first time poster.

I'm pretty excited at my first foray into CNC. I'm a hobby machinist and I've had manual Lathes and Mills for 20 years but in recent years been keen on moving into CNC.

I just picked up a Lagun FTV-2 with a ProtoTRAK MX2 conversion. Its in good shape for its age, everything works and the MX2 is pretty easy to drive for a newbie like me. It's only 2 axis but I figure it'll be good enough for the majority of work I do.

One of the things I like about it is I can still run it like my old manual mill. The MX2 controller is old and has it's limitations but the conversational programming seems pretty easy to use.

I'll start getting it installed and setting it up this weekend and hopefully be able to post some pics.

Cheers

Mike

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Lagun FTV-2 with ProtoTRAK MX2

Got the Mill home on Friday with help from a good friend. Trouble free ride bringing it home. Sunny day and the Mill securely strapped down to the trailer.

So far I've just unloaded it and it's waiting while I move the old mill out and clean up the floor. 5 years of flood coolant splashing around can make a mess.

Here's the machine shop area where the current mill sits. This was soon after getting the area set up so still pretty clean.

Here's the Lagun Mill. It's about the same size as my current HAFCO BM30. The table is identical in size and it looks like the X and Y travels are the same.

A few features of the new mill I really like and am looking forward to playing with are the variable speed head (No more swapping belts), the power draw bar and the mist coolant setup.