Noob CNC Questions

Thread: Noob CNC Questions

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Noob CNC Questions

I am a complete noob to CNC and this forum. I have been looking at CNCZone since about the middle of April. So there may be some questions here that I just haven't found answers to yet. I am planning on building the Joes 2006 R2 router but I will be making the bed shorter therefore reducing the Y axis to about 35-36" (about two cross pieces out of base). I would like approx. 2' x 2' cut area. This is definitely a very low budget machine. I plan on using this mainly to cut out high power rocket fins and centering rings. Do you have any other suggestions for a machine design? This is probably not cost effective but these machines are so cool I can't stop myself. Therefore I will sacrifice a little tolerance. Probably 0.010 - 0.015" is more than accurate enough. I probably will do some engraving as I learn more about it. Reading r00t4rd3d's MDF Madness thread I got a bug to build some P boxes and other things. Just things for gifts and personal use. The questions below are kind of haphazardly put together because I have just taken notes as I have read through lots of threads on here.

1. Because of my low budget build I want to use Open Source or Free Software. What do you suggest. I have used Sketchup and FreeCad before. But I have never done any CAM and also don't know what exists for CAM or for machine control that fits my open source or free requirement. I just can't bring myself to spend more for software than it will cost to build the machine.
    2. How do you clamp work pieces down? I have seen some designs that use T-slots. I have thought I could dato the top of the bed and use some sort of c channels but that would increase the complexity of the build. Any suggestions pictures would be appreciated.