Another Hurco KMB-1 converstion (this time in Sunnyvale, CA)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another Hurco KMB-1 converstion (this time in Sunnyvale, CA)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Another Hurco KMB-1 converstion (this time in Sunnyvale, CA)

Strange... This forum site seems to be very 'buggy' with my Mac browsers! Anyhow...

I thought I'd start a build log regarding my Hurco KMB-1. I've had it for about 10 years. It started as a B control and I upgraded it to a BX. I'm an electrical engineer and have chip level schematics so maintaining it was never a problem (fairly simple design actually). However, it has never been the most stable machine. There are *so* many connectors in there that it would go through phases of shutting down. Looking at the signals with a scope showed enough noise that I knew the problem but didn't want to fix it. Plus, I have always wanted to dabble with a 4th and 5th axis.... So, I finally bit the bullet and yanked the control a week and a half ago. It was a form of catharsis, actually!

I am planning on going down the following route:
    • keep computer in the main cabinet, not the control pendant (which will just have the monitor and switches)
    • keep all servos and encoders (may lower CPR of encoders, if required)
    • keep brake system controlled by computer
    • keep mist/flood option
    • 17" touch screen for input (if I don't like it, I can always swap it out)
    • E-Stop chain that is a *real* chain... so, it will cause an open of a relay controlling servo power, not be 'interpreted' by the computer
    • Linux CNC as a control
    • Mesa 7i77 interface card
    • 3 Granite Devices VSD-E boards running in analog mode (so, full feedback to the control software, not step/direction)
    • 2 Electrocraft DC-25 amps for 4th and 5th axis
    • wiring for 220V single-phase
    • dumping original transformers except for the 60V servo transformer