Need Help! Basic Wooden Cube

Thread: Basic Wooden Cube

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Basic Wooden Cube

Hi all,

I'm extremely new to wood working and the CNC community and I wanted a project that will keep me busy. I recently ordered 1-inch wooden cubes. However, they are not exact. So if I stack them 10-inches high, there are slits that let light through. I wanted to have them EXACTLY 1-inch and I was hoping a CNC machine would help me. I'm not new to hard work and research but I feel a quick post may save me a week or so as I only get how to create a turner cube. All I need to know is what kind of machine will work and is there a suggested DIY build?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Basic Wooden Cube

I think a good table saw and planer is probably a better approach than a cnc for this particular job.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

That's what I originally wanted to try but I'm having trouble thinking of a way to hold down 100 blocks. I've created a kind of 'holder' but it doesn't work very good. Maybe I'll research a better way to hold the blocks. Thank you for your reply

Also, hypothetically, if I were to use a CNC machine, which would be advised?

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by foxberg View Post
    That's what I originally wanted to try but I'm having trouble thinking of a way to hold down 100 blocks. I've created a kind of 'holder' but it doesn't work very good. Maybe I'll research a better way to hold the blocks. Thank you for your reply

Also, hypothetically, if I were to use a CNC machine, which would be advised?
    I'm not sure what you mean by a holder. You don't need to hold down 100 blocks to make them. Use the planer and table saw to make 1 inch thick, 1 inch wide strips of wood of any length (lets say 3 feet). Then just cut off 1 inch pieces from the end by setting the table saw fence (so you don't have to repeatedly measure). You can use a cross-cut sled for this last part.