New VF2, Spindle air always on and draining air tank

Thread: New VF2, Spindle air always on and draining air tank

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New VF2, Spindle air always on and draining air tank

Hey guys,

Im a complete newb to the VMC world and just upgraded my Tormach. While im waiting for HFO to get some training setup Im going through tutorials and whatnot to learn what I can.

Something I cant figure out is if this "Spindle Air" is suppose to be always blowing. It seems to be a huge drain of air keeping my compressor running frequently. I havent run any programs other than the initial spindle break-in so I dont know if its just the scenario of being on thats keeping it active?

Opening the air cabinet, its definitely the "Spindle Air" solenoid supplying air but I dont know if theirs another solenoid at the spindle as well. I would assume so at least.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New VF2, Spindle air always on and draining air tank

That's not right. Maybe a call to Haas?

Downloads
    Uploads

That doesn't sound right. It doesn't turn off if you press RESET, or use M74, or cycle power? Maybe the solenoid is stuck? Where is the air coming from, specifically? Straight down the spindle, like TSC would?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I havent tried M74 (had to even look that one up) but its definitely coming from the spindle bearing area not the tool center. First thing I did was put a tool in thinking that would seal it.

I talked to Haas and they said my researching was correct and I should only have that air moving for 60sec after the spindle starts for bearing lube but mine is constant from the moment after I initialize the machine. It also seems if I do nothing for like 30min or so it will stop, maybe some sleep mode I havent figured out yet? But as soon as I do something it kicks back on.