HEF MILLING ( HIGH EFFICIENCY MILLING )

Thread: HEF MILLING ( HIGH EFFICIENCY MILLING )

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default HEF MILLING ( HIGH EFFICIENCY MILLING )

HEY WAS WONDERING IF ANYONE COULD GIVE ME ANY INSIGHT ON WHETHER OR NOT THE MACHINE I HAVE IS RIGID ENOUGH TO WITHSTAND LONG PERIODS OF HIGH SPEED MILLING USING VOLUMILL SOFTWARE. I HAVE A 2001 HAAS VF-3 VERTICAL MILLING CENTER AND WOULD LIKE TO START IMPROVING MY CYCLE TIMES, HOWEVER I DONT WANT TO RUIN MY MACHINE. ANY COMMENTS WOULD BE HELPFUL AS I AM PRETTY NEW TO THIS. THANKS TO ALL THAT RESPOND.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: HEF MILLING ( HIGH EFFICIENCY MILLING )

Does you machine have the high speed machining option turned on? Does it even have a high speed option being an older machine. Parameter 315 (I think) is the high speed machining option. Check if you have it first. It depends on what material you want to cut too. If it's something like stainless steel you should be ok as you won't need high spindle speeds, but with the likes of aluminium you want higher spindle speeds to get the good out of the high feed machining.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I don't believe it has that parameter but it will take whatever code I put in it...the reason I had asked the question of rigidity is a tool salesman told me running programs such as volumill at the feeds and speeds they recommend would cause premature spindle wear on my machine due the lack of rigidity in haas machines in general. I was really just wanting to know it the guy knew what he was talking about. I have already ran a few programs using the software and wasn't seeing spindle loads above 25% which I didn't think were too bad. However I wasn't sure if the higher rpm's had something to do with it or if some other factors were issues.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads