Haas and HSMWorks tool offset

Thread: Haas and HSMWorks tool offset

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Haas and HSMWorks tool offset

Hello,

I have just purchased a Haas mini mill 2006, and I have a problem understanding tool length. The problem is that I shall make measures in my HSMWorks tools directory, and also on Haas machine in the tool offset settings. (Picture in attachment. )

What happens then? Does the tool length is doubled as it is defined in HSMworks and in Haas tool lenght settings, or it will behave normaly.

For example, if I take a measure for the one random tool which I will use on my work piece (G54), will others toolss be also adjusted to the work piece.

Newbie here, so be gentle.

Thank you

Marko

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Haas and HSMWorks tool offset-20170404_130624-1-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Haas and HSMWorks tool offset

It definitely shouldn't be doubling the tool lengths. Don't use the software tool lengths if it's going to do that.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Downloads
    Uploads

Thank you fellas for quick reply.

I have gone trough the whole videos before asking the questions, and after a day of testing some offsets, I have answered to my questions.

Now, most of the machinist are making simple G-codes by hand, and I need to make them in HSMWorks, which makes all the problems to float. For example, If I define my own bits setup(length , offset, diameter), than machine bits settings should all be Zero, and then my program works. If they are defined on a machine, and on a CAD/CAM software, then there will be an error, or a crash, beacuse if for example: Tool 1 has offset of 100mm, and in my machine also is defined an offset of 100 mm, the machine will take both offsets and will plunge 200mm in -Z direction, which will result in alarm, error or a crash.