Problem SL-20 is leaking hydraulic oil from the drawbar.

Thread: SL-20 is leaking hydraulic oil from the drawbar.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default SL-20 is leaking hydraulic oil from the drawbar.

Greetings all. I'll introduce myself first. My name is Fred and I'm a CNC programmer and machinist with about 6 months on the job.

Our SL-20 has recently developed a hydraulic oil leak. Initially the leak was fairly slow, about one drop a minute, but it has been getting worse.

I've attached a PDF file from Matsumoto that shows an exploded view of the cylinder. I'll use their part names to describe everything.

The leak is coming from the back of the distributor case. There is an aluminum end plate that Haas uses in place of item 7. It's shown in this picture.

This plate has an internal gutter that drains out of an overflow hole into the "mailbox" at the back of the spindle. That is where the oil is coming out.

Initially, our "mailbox" wasn't properly sealed, so the oil was leaking directly onto the spindle motor fan. You can see in the above picture that I've had things apart and resealed all the silicone joints. This redirected the leak into the mailbox and into the coolant, but did not fix it. But at least the machine is no longer sitting in a puddle of hydraulic oil.

In this next picture, I've highlighted the area where the oil is dripping. The oil doesn't show up well in the picture, but it's there. The overflow hole is behind the steel plate with the eight holes.