which lathe???

Thread: which lathe???

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default which lathe???

i am a one man band. i am a chassis builder and i have a vf-3 which i try to only use for multiple run parts so i can continue welding and only stop when my green light is flashing. im thinking of adding a lathe to my shop for making threaded tube adapters and what not. it needs to be self sufficient for the most part. not like a tl series where you still have to "man" it for some of the time. what would be a good starting lathe? im not afraid of getting a used older model to try and save some loot. maybe like an hl-2? or would it be worh it to get a new small lathe like a gt-20 or even an sl-20?

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

If you're buying your thread adapters from the Chassis Shop (Pro-Werks), or any other quality source, you will be very hard pressed to be money ahead making your own. I looked into it myself, but unless you're using several hundred a month, it doesn't really make sense unless you want to do something different with the design, which I can't imagine. If you're after money savings, ask the Chassis Shop about quantity discounts. I just bought 22 of the Pro-Werks filler caps, and they discounted my price beyond what is on their website without me even asking. Beyond that, you could ask them about becoming a distributor for even lower pricing.

All the chassis/car builders I do work for are happy as clams to outsource work to me. It saves them from having the overhead, and I can get it done faster than they could because they have other things they could be working on, like you alluded to yourself.

With all that said, I would think an SL-10 with a bar puller would be about right for what you're talking about. It's enclosed, has a turret and you could load 3' bars and let'er rip.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads