CNC Rifling and drilling

Thread: CNC Rifling and drilling

Default CNC Rifling and drilling

Hello,
    I am building a CNC gun barrel drilling, reaming, and rifling machine based on the Bill Webb design and I need some help. I am a machinist so I have the CNC part down but I have never delved into the realm of hobby CNC before and there is so much info out there that I have no Idea where to start. I have read a few books on hobby CNC and I know I need motors, I need a driver, I need software, but that’s about it. Here is what I know I need and maybe we can go from there.

1. The drilling portion of the machine is a very slow feed process that utilizes a, carriage with a tool holder and gun drill, that is moved in a linear fashion by a leadscrew. Basically it is the same thing as a regular metal lathe.
    2. The reaming portion is the same as the drilling but it is done at a higher feed rate.

Question: Is a leadscrew the best option for CNC or would a ballscrew be better?
    Question: Can a servo handle these types of operations?

1. The machine spindle rotates during drilling and reaming operations just like a lathe. The spindle will have to be rotated to upwards of 2000 RPM for drilling and much, much lower for reaming. The spindle is usually locked in position for rifling.

Question: Can a servo handle these three things?

1. During rifling operations, the carriage is disengaged from the leadscrew via a half nut so the carriage can rapid traverse on the x axis. The carriage is hooked to a motor bike chain and sprocket and moved via a hand crank. Since the cutting tool is only removing about .001” per pass this works but gets old very quick. I would like to attach a servo to the sprocket and have it control the x axis movements for rifling.