Need Help! Polishing Gray Sheet PVC

Thread: Polishing Gray Sheet PVC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Polishing Gray Sheet PVC

Hello, new to this forum, and I see this will be of great help to me over time.

Both my Dad and I work with Acrylic, making various products. I recently got the idea to substitute gray PVC Type-I sheeting (same as schedule-40 pipe) in place of black acrylic.

What I'm running into is that the PVC sheeting does not come paper-coated, and since it is softer, there are scratches all over it. While acrylic can be flame-polished, PVC cannot, it just turns black and melts.

I have used a plastic polishing compound, a 3-stitch buffing wheel, and a drill to polish it to a mirror shine, however this takes quite a bit of time. It's a 4 or 5 inch wheel, and I run it at full speed (3000 RPM?) and when I get the consistency of the polish just right (I have some experience with using this polish) it will shine up to a perfect mirror shine in about 5-10 seconds, but that's holding the wheel in one spot, about 1 square inch. So when I want to polish a finished product, or individual pieces prior to welding, this will take much longer than I wish it to take.

Is there a better way to quickly and easily polish PVC?

Is there a chemical that can be applied to this type of PVC that will get rid of the scratches?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I think it's a really bad material to try to polish (or keep polished for that matter!).

Have you considered just coating it with a thick hard clear coat like an epoxy clear coat?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads