Need Help! HDPE milling finishing issues - please kindly help!

Thread: HDPE milling finishing issues - please kindly help!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default HDPE milling finishing issues - please kindly help!

Dear All,

I am pretty new in CNC milling and now facing a finishing issue with HDPE.

I am using a good brand (T&O) carbure end mill 6mm 1z for profiling, at 25,000RPM (Kress 1050) and 2400 mm/min feedrate, with conventional milling direction.

Attached is a photo of the resulting finishing - could someone provide me with some clues about why I get this strange not nice looking surface pattern and some burs? I have already tried to change RPM and feedrate but couldn't see any improvement.

Many thanks in advance.

Emmanuelhttp://www.cnczone.com/forums/attach...d=320980&stc=1http://www.cnczone.com/forums/attach...d=320982&stc=1

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails HDPE milling finishing issues - please kindly help!-p_20160523_093729-jpg   HDPE milling finishing issues - please kindly help!-p_20160523_093843-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: HDPE milling finishing issues - please kindly help!

I see a couple things going on. Looks like chatter (Either machine or cutter flex) and Chip re-welding. I would also use climb milling but it depends on your machine also. The part you show looks like the edge was milled by profile milling not Face milling.

What kind of machine are you using? I am guessing a router with that spindle speed. Sometimes you need an air-blast to clear the chips while you are cutting.

Downloads
    Uploads

This may also be caused by improper part clamping. If the part is vibrating or being pulled up by the cutter. Hdpe is one of the most easily machined and forgiving plastics to work with. What is your cutting strategy? Are you making multiple depth passes and a finishing cut or just trying all in one pass?

Ben

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads