New Machine Build Soft plastic milling help needed (video to demonstrate the problem)

Thread: Soft plastic milling help needed (video to demonstrate the problem)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Soft plastic milling help needed (video to demonstrate the problem)

Seems like the nature of the material. Try cutting something a little different like acrylic or PVC and see if you still get the same issue.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Soft plastic milling help needed (video to demonstrate the problem)

I am new to milling and just an amateur, so please excuse my perhaps basic question. I am currently building a CNC of my own design, and the initial tests seems to be promising. I have done some CD writing and that seems fine. However, yesterday I thought I'll test milling some soft plastic and run a surfacing program but I am not very happy with the results. I made a short video, please have a look at it and tell me what you think, why the plastic is not cut, more like sliced.

Am I having too high, or too slow feed rate? I had it set to 220mm/min (8in/min) and also tried with 180mm/min (7in/min) but it made no difference.
    Am I having too little overlap? I am using a 2mm end mill and the overlap is 0.5mm, in other words, I move the mill 1.5mm at each turn around.
    Am I having too high or too slow RMP on the spindle motor? I run it with 36V and that supposed to give me about 9000-10000 RPM. Have not measured it, so that's just a guess from the motor performance.

Could any of you give me an advice about why the cuts look like they do in the video?

I made some hand wheels (also can be seen in the video) out of the same material before, and those were made using a bench drill machine with a circular cutter in it, and even those cuts look ugly. I really don't know why.

Thanks.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Soft plastic milling help needed (video to demonstrate the problem)