Need Help! Create cylinder geometry for 3 axis mill

Thread: Create cylinder geometry for 3 axis mill

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Create cylinder geometry for 3 axis mill

Hello all. Im a newbie to the forum and to gibbscam as well. I need to create a cylinder for stock geometry for the 3 axis mill module. The cylinder is 4.450" long with an OD of 1.830". it has an ID of 1.595". how do i create this geometry for the 3 axis mill module. also, i am machining a slot along the length of the cylinder and will be putting a 60degree chamfer around it and need assistance with profiling the chamfer on the z axis around the slot maintaining a depth of .030". any help will be greatly appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Create cylinder geometry for 3 axis mill

Do you have a solid model for you cylinder? If not, then your easiest way is to create a solid model of your part, and then use 3D surface milling, and your chamfer can be programmed to follow the curve of the tube. You will be able to extract the slot geo to mill that out. If you need step by step, let me know. Let me know how accustomed you are to GibbsCam controls as well.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by 1armmachinist View Post
    Do you have a solid model for you cylinder? If not, then your easiest way is to create a solid model of your part, and then use 3D surface milling, and your chamfer can be programmed to follow the curve of the tube. You will be able to extract the slot geo to mill that out. If you need step by step, let me know. Let me know how accustomed you are to GibbsCam controls as well.