Is my new CNC faulty?

Thread: Is my new CNC faulty?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Is my new CNC faulty?

Hi folks,

I'm new to CNC but not to woodworking or computers. I bought a new CNC machine a few weeks ago but have been having a few issues and I'm getting the feeling that the company who made it are trying to fob me off. I was hoping someone here could tell from my description if there is a high chance of a hardware fault?

Here are the issues.

I have designs made from vectric software which has toolpaths saved as v carve for mach3 mm gcode.

If I run a very basic gcode program to cut a small square for example the results appear ok.
    If I run a 10cm x 5cm sized program with two lines of text the machine cuts it as if the z axis isn't flush to the material. However I have surfaced both the scrap board and in desperation the material too. I have tried cutting the same gcode 4 times and the results are identical. By the 3rd word the cutter isn't scratching the surface. I sent the company the same code to cut and theirs cut perfectly. They are saying that there is no hardware issue even though when I press goto home after it's cut that the cutter appears to be up to 1mm away from the set home position. To me it is as if there is a minor error that gets larger the longer mach3 is running.

If I cut a 10cm x 10cm square profile which is about 200 lines of code it appears ok but if I try cutting a text engraving of a similar size it turns out to be about 5000 code and that's when the machine starts cutting ok but then appears just to cut fresh air. I'm happy the z axis is flush to the material. Is this backlash or some other issue. This was hand made and I'm getting quite frustrated so Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Is my new CNC faulty?