CNC for Aircraft Parts

Thread: CNC for Aircraft Parts

Default CNC for Aircraft Parts

Hello Zone-goers,

I'm an Industrial Designer, and I have been working on a sort of 'dream project' to build my own fighter plane. To be specific, a 5/8 scale replica F6F Hellcat, built from aluminum sheet over a steel truss frame. My father a few engineers, and myself, have been designing and planning this project for about 3 1/2 years now, and we're getting to the point where we've begun cutting parts.

But paying someone to cut parts for a one-off project is prohibitively expensive: at the most bare minimum doubles the cost of a sheet. And we have so many sheets to make. Now, if it was just aluminum we could probably find a vendor that can do all our sheets at once for a reasonable price eventually. But! In addition to cutting our aluminum sheets, we also need 'forming blocks' to go with many of these sheets to let us hammer our flats into final shape.

It's all very basic work, and if we had the patience and time it can certainly all be done by hand. But over the hundreds of parts that must be cut and formed and so-on...

So anyway all that to say, I've finally persuaded our 'team' to bite the bullet and build our own CNC router table as it should ideally cost less in time and funds and shed tears than the 'old fashioned way' or the 'quick and simple sub-contraced' way. One of my engineers has built a small CNC table before, and I have machining and 3D printing experience, and have some exposure to routers from college. We have welders and presses and sheet metal breaks in our shop already so... So I'm not too concerned about being able to build a quality rig. But it also doesn't need to be perfect this first time: I mostly just need to be able to do a better job of making small shapes from big rectangles than one can with tin-snips in one hand and a beer in the other...