Build Thread Conversion Project: Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!

Thread: Conversion Project: Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Conversion Project: Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!

I noticed there was an old thread on these machines, but little in the way of actual details. A while back I came upon these machines at an auction, and immediately feel in love with them! They're unbelievably fast (1m/sec!), strong (15kg toolhead payload), and precise (60 micron x/y and 40 z).

I bought 10 in all, they came as a lot. Now I'm setting out to convert them to modern digital controls! I've looked at using Geckodrive but that's a bit pricey. Being an electrical engineer by trade I figure it should be pretty doable. I've already built controllers for other large CNC equipment but all used steppers, these machine use HUGE servomotors!

Pretty huh! This is one of the larger models at 1 x .6 x .4 meters. Like most it is a 4-axis machine with the toolhead rotating.

And from the back. These things are SERIOUSLY heavy duty, with very thick milled cast aluminum and steel frames.

And one of the linear motion systems. The technician in me is in love with these things! Aggressive stainless leadscrews, hardened tool steel linear rails with pillow block bearings . . . . they really don't make them like this any more!

Next up is figuring out the voltages and encoder protocols used!

I should also mention I have ten of these but only space for 5, so if anybody wants one of their own I'll be happy to sell some!

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Conversion Project:  Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!-img_20170306_171334-jpg   Conversion Project:  Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!-img_20170306_171338-jpg   Conversion Project:  Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!-img_20170307_133423-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Conversion Project: Seiko D-TRAN XM-5000 Cartesian Robots!