Introduction and Inquiry aboout Composite Machining

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introduction and Inquiry aboout Composite Machining

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Introduction and Inquiry aboout Composite Machining

Hello all,
    My name is Jack and I'm a sophomore at University of Florida. Most my knowledge is with waterjets, additive manufacturing, and a little on CNC mills, but I came to this forum in hopes of learning more. However my main reason here is to inquire on machining composites, particularly carbon fiber ones. I have created a carbon fiber composite in which I hope to machine into a fly fishing reel. Unfortunately I have had terrible amount of luck inquiring to local and regional machinist. Most never get back to me on an email or when I request for a quote. Those who do rarely follow up with more than one email. I was hoping it would be possible to get a recommendation or referral to a group that would be willing to machine a carbon fiber composite in which I have created. For obvious reasons its been difficult to find people who work with composites, let alone someone willing to use a customer fabricated one. Leads or help of any kind is much appreciated. Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Introduction and Inquiry aboout Composite Machining

.....and just why would you want to go to an exotic material like carbon fibre that is difficult to machine and would cost the Earth to outsource?.....just curious.
    Ian.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by jreinke10 View Post
    Hello all,