carving action figures

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: carving action figures

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default carving action figures

Hi All,

I'm brand new to the world of CNC machines and I would like to try using a desktop machine to make 3"-5" stone versions of various action figures.

I know I'd be using alabaster, soapstone and/or marble, but I'm rather in-the-dark in terms of what specs I should look for and how I would go about finding images and inputting them into the machine.

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated!

Also, if anyone has ideas on how I could try my hand at this without dropping a lot of money on a machine at the onset, that would be great as well!

Thanks in advance,

John

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: carving action figures

Try a 3d printer with a finish that has a stone look. If you want to carve actual stone, be ready to drop some coin.

Downloads
    Uploads

Can be done, but you need a fairly stiff machine.
    carving action figures-7991-jpg
    The rock is basalt. The machining uses diamond cutters and is slow ... and it needs to be done under water.

Cheers
    Roger

Downloads
    Uploads

Do they even make diamond tooling for stone in small enough sizes?

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks, Roger! So you mean the frame of the machine should be stiff? What machine specs should I look for?

John

Quote Originally Posted by RCaffin View Post
    Can be done, but you need a fairly stiff machine.
    carving action figures-7991-jpg