New to CNC - Jewelry Designer looking for advise on CNC machine to cut and engrave

Thread: New to CNC - Jewelry Designer looking for advise on CNC machine to cut and engrave

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New to CNC - Jewelry Designer looking for advise on CNC machine to cut and engrave

Hi,

I am new to CNC and in desperate need of help/advise. I want to start a line on personalized jewelry like name pendants, monogram initials, etc and I would like to find a way to get the pieces cut and engraved at a reasonable price. I have tried to look for third party companies without much luck so I am thinking I will have to do it myself. So I have two questions for the forum members

1) Outsourcing. Does anyone know of a company that cuts and engraves (or laser marks) fine metals for small businesses?
    2) If I go on my own, can a small CNC machine do the work? I want to cut 18 gauge metal 1.02mm. Which machines would you recommend? My price range is probably around 3-4K. Since I do not know anything about CNC, I would appreciate as much detail as possible on the equipment (name, model, limitations, etc).

Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Gloria

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New to CNC - Jewelry Designer looking for advise on CNC machine to cut and engrav

Quote Originally Posted by gpvanarsdale View Post
    Hi,

1) Outsourcing. Does anyone know of a company that cuts and engraves (or laser marks) fine metals for small businesses?

[That sounds like at least 3 different companies. If you want shapes cut out, you would need to find someone to make the dies, then send them somewhere else for stamping out the pieces. You'd probably want to have the engraving or laser-marking done before you did that, since it's hard to hold onto small delicate pieces without marring them.