New as in old is new again!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 25

Thread: New as in old is new again!

  1. #1
    Registered Ryadia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    84
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default New as in old is new again!

    I'm new to CNC but plenty of experience as a toolmaker.
    My newly acquired Chinese USB CNC controlled 4 Axis 6040 machine is driving me nuts. The Planet USB CNC software is a nightmare to understand the instructions. I guess happen if I just let it... And get a little help here.



  2. #2
    Registered KH0UJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    417
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    You need a CAD/CAM software to generate codes and input it in the planet USB CNC software sir , first you draw a line or object in the 3D environment then export it to a CAM software then input the G-code generated on your CNC software.



  3. #3
    Registered Ryadia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    84
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    Thank you for that piece of advice Khouj.
    I have Vcarve desktop which I was told is an exceptional program for engraving signs (my intention) I also have Planet USB CNC to import Gcodes and control the router. My router is a Chinese made machine that came with a copy of Planet USBCNC. It installed as a demo program so I purchased a license to use it. This is where the waters become muddy. Naturally I updated the software to the latest version and also installed an updated Planet CNC driver.

    Sounds good eh? Yes... Well the router now behaves quite oddly. It stops and starts, sounding like a ratchet when it stops and all the controls are working in reverse. For example I created a 6mm deep radius corner rectangle in Vcarve. The 'trial run' of my creation looked great so I saved the toolpaths as both a G-code and a.nc file. Both import into Planet CNC-USB program but display as if they are 25mm deep. When I try to run the router with no cutter in the spindle to see if it looks like cutting the shape, The spindle (Z axis) runs in reverse hitting the top limit switch. Then as the X and Y axis start to move, the router stalls sounding like a ratchet.

    I can use the direction controls to run either X or Y axis back and forth between stops at both high speed and cutting speed without any stops or interference. When I wrote to Planet USB-CNC about this they said it sounded like I had a machine notorious for using counterfeit controllers. No Chinese manufacturer had a license to distribute his software either. The twist to this is Planet don't want anything to do with this problem if the controller box has one of their counterfeit cards in it. He said the 'right' card can be purchased from his store but none of the cards he is selling look like the one in my controller box.

    I'm starting to think of applying to Paypal for a refund and starting over again by buying an Australian made router but those I looked at all use Planet USB-CNC software (I presume they also use a similar card as the Chinese use). I'd really like to know how other people who bought these machines get on. It was the 'experts' at Vcarve who recommended I buy Planet USB-CNC to process the G-codes their software creates. Quite frankly... It is this sort of carry on that is responsible for all CNC routers getting a bad name.



  4. #4
    Registered KH0UJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    417
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    I guess your router`s Z axis is trying to hit a limit switch sir, it`s a software issue, you can easily convert it to MACH 3 sir, it`s a setting issue on planet CNC software, if it`s a MACH 3 I can guide you through it step by step but I have no idea on the the software you are using right now, im kinda used to MACH 3, we have a CNC like yours too, or shall I say crappier than yours but with the right modifications, it`s alive and kicking right now with thousands of parts produced every month.

    I wish I could post some pictures on all our work here but im afraid our customers might gun me down for publishing their designs.



  5. #5
    Registered Ryadia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    84
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Cool Re: New as in old is new again!

    This is something I would like to explore. I will look at the Mach software again but I was led to believe I would still need to use a USB CNC controller like the one I have needing Planet CNC-USB software to drive the router.

    That is why I bought a USB version and not a Parallel port one. Odd but the controller box has a parallel plug with a cable that has a USB plug for the computer end. Now that I think about it, I remember someone in another forum or on You-tube saying that Mach 3 doesn't need the USB software, it can control the router through the printer port. The PC I'm using has a printer port. What do you think? please don't call me sir, that's my father, I just plain old Ryadia!



  6. #6
    Registered KH0UJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    417
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    Well the USB port in your machine is just an emulator "bro" (im assuming you` re the same age as me) it emulates the LPT1 port, it`s basically the same function as the parallel port, you just need the USB driver on it to be able to detect it on your PC

    I can give you a stable version of MACH 3 but then again it`s illegal on this forum bro...



  7. #7
    Registered Ryadia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    84
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    I'm beginning to think maybe I ought to get a parallel cable and Mach3. Last time I tried it (Mach3) I had trouble trying to make text on a curve. In fact I had trouble figuring out how to set it up! I'll give it another go and get back to you when I go as far as I can if that's OK by you.

    Ryadia



  8. #8
    Registered KH0UJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    417
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    Ya sure, do post some picture too on the process so that I can edit it and post it back to you with the edited values on it do you want to make a gun too just like I did? hehehe just kidding though it`s possible, I tried it only using a machine like yours with the help of a surface grinder to square things up.

    one question what version of MACH 3 did you use the last time bro?



  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2890
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    W7, Mach3 v062, ESS, Homann MB02 BoBs: these work just fine.
    Chinese stuff - flakey.
    If you are an electronics engineer and can program, you might get it going. Maybe.

    Cheers
    Roger
    PS: which city?



  10. #10
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    30021
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    Regardless of which way you go, you're going to have to rewire something. And possibly add some new breakout boards and other hardware.
    Since you've already bought the Planet CNC software, the cheapest option would be to get their board.
    https://planet-cnc.com/product/cnc-u...r-mk34-4-axis/

    Not sure who told you to buy Planet-CNC? It's not used by many here, but those that do use it seem to like it, and it's supposed to work well.

    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)


  11. #11
    Registered Ryadia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    84
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    Thanks for replying.
    Planet USB CNC came with the machine and the support team at Vectric (Vcarve program) put me on to it as well. I've been in touch with the Australian maker of Masso controller about using his solution. The cost of it is not a lot greater than buying more Planet hardware. I'm in Brisbane. At this stage spending more money looks like the only way I'll get this machine functioning. I've been told most owners simply give up and try for a refund. 100% satisfaction Guaranteed!



  12. #12
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    30021
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Re: New as in old is new again!

    Planet USB CNC came with the machine
    No, a pirated knock off copy came with the machine.

    Vectric probably pointed you in that direction because they thought you already had the right hardware.

    There's a thread or two here about the Masso. Someone mentioned that not all features were fully implememted and or working yet? But that may have changed.

    The Masso is 3x-4x the price of the Planet CNC board, but maybe it's a better deal for you, being in Australia.

    A great many people have bought those cheap chinese machines, and ripped out all the electonics and started over with quality components.

    While I run Mach3 on my machine, I would not recommend it today, as development stopped several years ago, and there are now better options.
    Planet CNC being one, If you buy their hardware.
    UCCNC is another.
    Eding CNC another.
    And the Masso as well.
    These are all well supported options, and far superior to most of the chinese stuff.

    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


About CNCzone.com

    We are the largest and most active discussion forum for manufacturing industry. The site is 100% free to join and use, so join today!

Follow us on


Our Brands

New as in old is new again!
New as in old is new again!