New as in old is new again!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New as in old is new again!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default New as in old is new again!

I'm new to CNC but plenty of experience as a toolmaker.
    My newly acquired Chinese USB CNC controlled 4 Axis 6040 machine is driving me nuts. The Planet USB CNC software is a nightmare to understand the instructions. I guess happen if I just let it... And get a little help here.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New as in old is new again!

You need a CAD/CAM software to generate codes and input it in the planet USB CNC software sir , first you draw a line or object in the 3D environment then export it to a CAM software then input the G-code generated on your CNC software.

Downloads
    Uploads

Thank you for that piece of advice Khouj.
    I have Vcarve desktop which I was told is an exceptional program for engraving signs (my intention) I also have Planet USB CNC to import Gcodes and control the router. My router is a Chinese made machine that came with a copy of Planet USBCNC. It installed as a demo program so I purchased a license to use it. This is where the waters become muddy. Naturally I updated the software to the latest version and also installed an updated Planet CNC driver.

Sounds good eh? Yes... Well the router now behaves quite oddly. It stops and starts, sounding like a ratchet when it stops and all the controls are working in reverse. For example I created a 6mm deep radius corner rectangle in Vcarve. The 'trial run' of my creation looked great so I saved the toolpaths as both a G-code and a.nc file. Both import into Planet CNC-USB program but display as if they are 25mm deep. When I try to run the router with no cutter in the spindle to see if it looks like cutting the shape, The spindle (Z axis) runs in reverse hitting the top limit switch. Then as the X and Y axis start to move, the router stalls sounding like a ratchet.