Starting a machine shop

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting a machine shop

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Starting a machine shop

Ok.. I just got a Bridgeport Knee Mill.. This is the start of my machine shop. Yes, I know I am going to need a lot more equipment but this is a start I guess.

Soo... Where do I go from here? I have 4 years experience in machining. I am just overwhelmed by what I have to do... I don't know!..

I would like to get some work for my manual mill (if that is possible)

Please somebody give me some guidance..

I am located in Tampa,Florida..

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

There are CD's that list all businesses. They can be sorted by catagory, which, you can zero to your demographics........30-40 mile radius. Make PROFESSIONAL business cards, bang on doors, make short run parts, fixtures etc. Don't be a whore and work for free. Stay away from "Myquote"

Downloads
    Uploads

you should'nt have any trouble getting some odds and ends work for the machine you have as long as your are competiteve with your pricing. Are you working for a company now?

individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

What do you do? What do you want to specialize in? Tooling? Production? Medical? Aerospace? These are all questions you'll have to answer so that you know where to look for work. Keep in mind that you're entering a broad field with a lot of competition. My advice would be to find a niche, something that you enjoy doing, and market that. Also focus on your QC and ability to inspect your work especially if you're pursuing medical or gov't work. A simple website with an equipment list and a professional e-mail address couldn't hurt either...

Good luck!

I don't know much about anything but I know a little about everything....

Downloads
    Uploads