Small problem turning brass

Thread: Small problem turning brass

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Small problem turning brass

Hi,

I'm a beginner (hobbyist) lathe worker and I've just started my first project, the pedal engine from Bengs.
    I've turned the first part, which seems the easiest to me. The problem is that at the end of the cut, there is a bump of material appearing, which of course ruins the dimensions (see photo).
    How can I prevent that? And what can I do about it now?

I used a hard metal bit. Speed was about 2000 rpm (I can't go faster). The (turned) diameter is 5 and 4mm. Feeding by hand.
    Every pass I stopped a little to early, except for the last pass, which was up to the right dimension and I then retracted the bit while running, to finish the end.

Small problem turning brass-img_0433-jpg

Any insights are highly appreciated.

Regards,

Remco Poelstra

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Small problem turning brass

It looks like you're pushing the metal around rather than cutting it, which upset that bur on the end of your journal. That might be due to your tool's lack of sharpness, incorrect grind for the material, or a "built-up edge" on your tool tip; here's what Wikipedia has to say about that: Built up edge - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Brass cuts a little bit differently than steel, so you need to sharpen your tool differently to cut it effectively. The tool generally wants a zero to negative rake for brass; zero means that the edge presented is square (90 degrees) a positive rake is somewhat acute while a negative rake is a little bit obtuse. Here's an article that talks about this in more depth: Basic Lathe Tool Grinding

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for your post.