Newbie Best place for a Newbie to ask questions about CNC milling

Thread: Best place for a Newbie to ask questions about CNC milling

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Best place for a Newbie to ask questions about CNC milling

Hi,

I am very new to CNC. I have two machines I am trying to learn to operate. I want to develop a standard safe process to cut every part and all necessary setups.
    One, a Sherline mini mill with 9" of X travel running Mach3. ( The Sherline has no home switch and many other limitations.
    Two, a Eagle mill with 54" of X travel running Fagor control software. ( The Eagle has most everything except an encoder on the spindle, manual spindle speed control)

Being new, where do I go to ask basic questions?

Thanks,

Billy

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Best place for a Newbie to ask questions about CNC milling

There is a benchtop machine forum for your Sherline questions. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/benchtop-machines/

There is nothing really specific to Eagle or best practices.

I do suggest that your Eagle has a 10x54 table with about a 13x32 work envelope. I have one just like it Is yours a 2 or 3 axis? Mine started out as a 2 axis.

Standard safe practices? Keep your fingers away from the spinny things. Know exactly where the E stop button is. Make sure you know exactly where the table is going to go when you push the GO button, and make sure the tool isn't going to smack a clamp on a move. Air cutting is your friend when testing new programs.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks Jim,

I am not having too many issues with the Sherline and the Mach3 software. The Eagle machine does not actually belong to me. Long story...lol

I am trying to define a "standard repeatable process" startup to finish for most any machine. I want to do this for both the G Code and other setup procedures.