Newbie CNC Lathe question

Thread: Newbie CNC Lathe question

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Newbie CNC Lathe question

I am self taught and have been using a HAAS mill for several years. I just recently purchased a HAAS lathe to widen our capabilities and make some things we do on the mill more efficient.

My question is, what type of cutoff tool/insert would be best suited for parting off 304 stainless steel tubing, more precisely hypodermic needle tubing. The only thing I am certain of so far is that it will need to be cut pretty close to the spindle to keep it from flexing. But I could really use some advice on the best method and tool to use to accomplish this best.

Thanks in advance

Keith

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Newbie CNC Lathe question

You will need a free cutting insert with a lead angle in a tough grade for 304 Stainless Steel to get the best finish and tool life. What is the OD of the tubing and wall thickness? I believe hypodermic needle tubing has a .015" wall but thought I'd double check. Also, what is the shank size your Haas lathe takes? This sounds like an application that would be ideal for a Swiss but can send you info on a tool that would be ideal for the application Keith!

Mike

www.toolhit.com

Downloads
    Uploads

Mike,

The tubing is 13HV which translates to O.D. of .095 and I.D. is .064 with a wall of .0155. The machine is a HAAS CL-1 which is a brand new chucker they are putting out which has a .5 in shank. The turret on it is the same as the HAAS TL-1 uses from the looks of it.

Thanks in advance

Keith

Downloads
    Uploads

Sounds great Keith! The system I have had the most luck with in thin walled Stainless Steel is Kyocera's TKF designed for Small Diameter and Thin Walled Parts. Here is a link to the holder and inserts:

https://www.toolhit.com/products/thc89759
    *This Holder is a 1/2" Shank RH Holder for TKF Inserts. It can hold Cutoff, Backturning, Grooving and Threadings Inserts.