What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?

Thread: What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?

Question What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?

Hello guys,

I'm new to metal milling, in January 2017 I purchased a Tormach PCNC 1100 to be able to mill steel cutting dies, I joined the CNC industry now 4 years ago when I purchased a CNC Router (900x600mm working area) since than I milled alot of policarbonate, MDF, aluminum and brass parts, in the last 2 years I used the router daily.

Now, after I learned the basics in Fusion360 software and I started to make the first parts in steel (1.2379 tool steel) I faced another problem (99% of the products I make are used in leather industry, to cut leather, by the steel supplier I was advised to buy this type of steel) the piece I purchased was about 200x100mm x 15mm thick, and I find quite time consumming to cut it before I mount it in the vise to start milling the part, for example, today I spent 38 minutes to cut a 83mm long part.

What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?-tool-steel-80mm-height-jpg What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?-cutting-tool-steel-jpg

The tool I used was an 1500w bench top band saw, I also used the emulsion from my router to cool the blade.

What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?-tool-used-cut-tool-steel-jpg

The blade/band I used was made in germany, you can see it in the photo bellow, I used the one with smaller tooths, as I was told to use that when the metal is not thick, and use the other one with less tooths when the steel I want to cut is larger.

What tools do you use to cut steel in smaller pieces, before start milling it ?-band-metal-cutting-jpg