Suggestions for entry level tool? (see attached picture)

Thread: Suggestions for entry level tool? (see attached picture)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Suggestions for entry level tool? (see attached picture)

Hello,

I am new to this forum and to machining as well. I am a student of mechanical engineering and my father has finished it so we have a good background, but we have no machining experience whatsoever. I consider myself skilled in CAD, so at least that's covered. We are designing our own parts for our R/C car, but after a year of unprofessional experiences with local suppliers we have decided to start making our own parts, and get our own tools. My question is, what would you suggest for us to start with? We're looking at either a basic milling machine (which could later be upgraded to CNC) or a basic CNC. We are currently looking at a very basic level ($1500), however with possible serious plans for the future if our parts prove their worth. Used is OK as well. I have attached a picture of a part similar to the most complicated one we make, to get an idea of what has to be produced. Mostly small parts, for R/C cars.

Best regards

BTW the forum is really divided so please suggest if I should post in another section

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Suggestions for entry level tool? (see attached picture)-chubw-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Suggestions for entry level tool? (see attached picture)

That attached part could be made in a manual machine, but it would take a while to do it. Even on a CNC machine is would be at least three setup and a few tool changes.