spindle lock question

Thread: spindle lock question

Downloads
    Uploads

Default spindle lock question

Hello, I have made a spindle locking device for my Logan lathe that consists of a al. block bored out to fit the back of the spindle and is split on the side so a bolt can tighten it down. The whole contraption is bolted to the headstock and I would like to leave it there and am concerned about bearing wear. It rubs just a little as the spindle goes round, and I wonder it this would be cause for concern in the long run. I got this lathe from my grampy and don't want to have to tear into it if it does hurt the bearings. I just found your forum and this is my first post. I have some experience in the homeshop and hope to learn as well as help out when I can. Thanks for any ideas. Scott. P.S. You have interesting smilies..........

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Scott, are you able to post a picture ? that would help, are these open bearings that could get contaminated by wear particles ?, can't you hone it out a bit to relieve this rubbing ?, I am having trouble imagining it.

Ken

Downloads
    Uploads

Ken, I don't quite know about the bearings, I think they are sealed. I dont think I can hone it out and still get a nice even grip around the spindle, I think that would make it grip on just top and bottom. It needs to be a postive lock so I can index gearblanks for cutting. Here is a picture if I can get it to work, I am not used to the controls on this forum. You can see the block on the back and I have to remove gears to get the thing on there. I would like to leave it in place during normal turning operations. Scott.

Downloads
    Uploads

OK, I see Scott, I do not see where a little (emphasizing little) rubbing will cause a problem, it will soon wear in. You could still hone/ream the part precisely by tightening the bolt just a bit for some tension, hone or ream then back off the bolt while running, this should provide even a more precise fit.