Newbie CNC 3040 and Aluminium Milling - Problems and Blown Fuse

Thread: CNC 3040 and Aluminium Milling - Problems and Blown Fuse

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC 3040 and Aluminium Milling - Problems and Blown Fuse

First of all, I am a total newbie to CNC machining. I just bought a Chinese 3040 230W engraving CNC machine and have recently been struggling with milling operations on aluminium. I am trying to cut through a 4.3 mm thick aluminium box with a TiN coated carbide 2 flutes 42degree end mill with the following specs:
    • Mill Diameter: 3/32" (2.38 mm)
    • Shank Diameter: 1/8" (3.175 mm)
    • Length of Cut: 1/4" (6.35 mm)

I am trying to cut a profile through the entire thickness of the box. To generate my gcode, I used CamBam with the following parameters:
    • Depth Increments: 0.5mm
    • Target Depth: -4.5mm
    • Cut Feedrate: 125 mm/min
    • Plunge Feedrate: 62 mm/min
    • Spindle Speed: 6000 rpm
    • Tool Diameter: 2.38 mm
    • Inside Profile Cut (Rectangular Shape)

I have been trying 4 times to complete the operation but every single time, at some point, I would start hearing a really harsh noise and could see that my spindle speed was gradually slowing down or even see my end mill completely jam in the aluminium. When it happened, I always tried to shut down my controller as fast as I could to prevent further damage to my machine but during my last trial, the fuse blew and had to replace it. I use WD-40 as a lubricant and compressed air to blow the chips away.

Since I was able to cut through softer 1.25 mm thick aluminum plates with the same machine, end mill and parameters, I am wondering what is causing my problems. At a first glace, do my parameters look good? Is my machine powerful enough to complete such operation? Any hints/tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks a lot!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CNC 3040 and Aluminium Milling - Problems and Blown Fuse