Coolant stains on aluminum

Thread: Coolant stains on aluminum

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Coolant stains on aluminum

Hi All,
    I am new to the milling world and have just completed my conversion of a seig x3. I have a flood coolant system on the mill. I am cutting aluminum (5052, 6061) and have a bad problem with the coolant staining the metal. I am using Koolmist formula 78 (which is a mist and flood coolant) can anyone help me with a better coolant for aluminum???
    Thanks
    JpBinc.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

What kind of stain, color and all? I use Kool mist 77 and never had any problems.
    At work we use Trim coolants, they leave no stains or anything and work quite well. I know we order them from MSC in 5 gallon buckets

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Coolant Prob (more info)

The stains seem to be any place the coolant sits for a while. it turns the metal a light brown almost like tarnish on silver looks. In some places it turns white. I have been using mothers aluminum polish and the stains come out but I would like to try a different coolant.... So you have used koolmist formula 77 without getting stains on aluminum..
    Thanks
    JpBinc

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Never have had a stain, and been using this stuff for 9 or so months. I diluted it before 1:32 like it said to, but this seemed to cause rust. Now I dilute it probably 1:20, no longer getting rust. And so stain

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the info.. Did you use tap water or distilled?? I used distilled and I too deluted more than 1:32

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I just used tap water. At 1:32, did you ever get rust? I have a water filter, wonder if that would improve it at all?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

No I did not ever get rust, and the stains are only on the alu not the steel.

Downloads
    Uploads