Need Help! Milling D2 Tool Steel

Thread: Milling D2 Tool Steel

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Milling D2 Tool Steel

I am a fairly new CNC machinist running a Haas VF-3 mill. I have to machine D2 tool steel and am having a hard time finding a good speed and feed rate. Im using 3/4" Accupro TiCN coated, solid carbide, fine tooth roughing end mills. They are about $200 a piece and I have already destroyed several of them. I have tried to take take .125 and .250 deep cuts, the full width of the end mill at 1200 rpm 10in/min, 1000rpm 10in/min, and 750rpm 6in/min. So far I have had the best luck with the 750 and 6, .125 deep but it still isnt right. Anyone have any speeds and feeds that would work good? Thank you

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

i think your problem is not the spindle speed, its the feed and depth..
    try this option since i am doing tool steel as well on my current job..and it works good, i dont have the same cutter as you, but i think should be close enuf..
    try:
    2mil depth of cut (inch 0.078 i think)
    spindle speed 1273 rpm
    feed 4 to max 5 inches per min...

and dont use coolant what so ever..not even a drop or mist..
    you can blast dry air would be heaps better...

hope this helps

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I think peace and calm is close, your depth of cut was way to deep, I've run a face mill, with carbide inserts machining tool steel, It worked it was hard on the inserts, but did the job. So more passes less depth.. Good luck

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

yes,depth of cut is the name of the game.i work with soft tool steele and hard cut it.carbide and air is the way to go,hard or soft..030 d.o.c. feed 50-60 in.per min. on soft.on a 50 taper viper.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads