Newbie laser module to a new cnc

Thread: laser module to a new cnc

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default laser module to a new cnc

Hey Everyone ... sorry if my question has been answered before, i triede to do a serach.

I am a total newbie to cnc, i just bought a step-four ( basic 540 ) cnc machine, and i would like to change the router ( the engraving head / tool ) with a laser one. i am not interessted in some expensive CO2 laser og plasma, since i'am only cutting light materials as paper sheets, basla, and other thin materials. so i guess a laser diod ( powefull enough .. though ) can make the work .. am i right ?

What is your advice ? what kind of laser should i buy ? what about the laser modul, should i buy it or just connect the laser head to "router" ( tool ) module ?

sorry for such basal questions, but as i mentioned i am total new to cnc, and i will appreciate any help .. thank you

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Diode lasers are a lot more difficult to use than CO2. The wavelength of operation is such that CO2 sees almost everything as opaque whereas the diode sees many colors and materials as transparent.
    I have tried both and finally added a CO2 head to my existing router. If you wish you can find more details of what I did here http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/27.htm and here http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/18.htm

Tweakie.

CNC is only limited by our imagination.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Tweakie .. thanks for you replay, i see what do you mean .. i guess i hust been intimidated by the "complexicity" of the CO2 cutter, and its installation. And somehow encouraged by the cheap price of the Laser Diode. but i do understand the limitations and the weaker power of a laser diod.

do you have anyidea where i can buy a cheap CO2 burner/cutter kit, i dont really need an advance one, and in anyhow an expensive one, since it is for hobby and pure personal use ?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads