Importing a CAD file with LaserDRW and K40 Laser

Thread: Importing a CAD file with LaserDRW and K40 Laser

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Importing a CAD file with LaserDRW and K40 Laser

I am new to laser engraving / cutting, and am using the cutter mainly for cutting knife handles. My question is if there is a way to import a CAD file into LaserDRW so that I can cut it accurately. What I have been doing is exporting my CAD drawing to BMP, and them importing that into LaserDRW, however it is not very accurate. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Importing a CAD file with LaserDRW and K40 Laser

Certainly, its called DXF. Your CAD program needs to Export a DXF file in the format you need mm or inches, and in the version your software will Import. Since your using a K40 and LaserDRW I have no idea.

So it turns out your LaserDRW will not Import vectors, and that includes DXF files. There is a plug in for Inkscape thats allows it to work. Good Luck.

Last edited by wmgeorge; 08-06-2017 at 10:17 PM.
    1000x750 Workbee CNC - Mach4 - PMDX USB - Windows 10 Pro

Downloads
    Uploads

To bring vectors into LaserDRW you can use the LaserDRW Inkscape extension.
    Laser Draw (LaserDRW) - Inkscape Extension
    Inkscape can read multiple input file types. You just need to find one that your CAD program can output. (HPGL and DXF are likely candidates)

Or you can skip LaserDRW and send DXF or SVG files to your K40 with K40 Whisperer.
    K40 Whisperer

Scorch
    www.scorchworks.com

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by scorch View Post
    To bring vectors into LaserDRW you can use the LaserDRW Inkscape extension.
    Laser Draw (LaserDRW) - Inkscape Extension
    Inkscape can read multiple input file types. You just need to find one that your CAD program can output. (HPGL and DXF are likely candidates)

Or you can skip LaserDRW and send DXF or SVG files to your K40 with K40 Whisperer.
    K40 Whisperer