Newbie About to buy a laser, will an open laser be dangerous when using powerful lasers?

Thread: About to buy a laser, will an open laser be dangerous when using powerful lasers?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default About to buy a laser, will an open laser be dangerous when using powerful lasers?

Hello!

Total noob-question: i´m planning to purchase a large, open, laser: a redsail 1325 to be precise. The laser is Reci S6 (150W Peak) CO2.

I am going to be using the laser in my garage, where my children and other people spending time while the laser is working. My question: Is there any added risk in using an "open" laser without the enclosure in regards to eye-damage when being near the machine? And any other advantages / disadvantages you guys see in using an open machine? I have opted for it because i plan to cut large amount of plywood and prefer to just insert the standard size boards instead of always having to cut the plywood beforehand.

Big thanks in advance!!

Jonatan

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Quadros View Post
    Hello!

Total noob-question: i´m planning to purchase a large, open, laser: a redsail 1325 to be precise. The laser is Reci S6 (150W Peak) CO2.

I am going to be using the laser in my garage, where my children and other people spending time while the laser is working. My question: Is there any added risk in using an "open" laser without the enclosure in regards to eye-damage when being near the machine? And any other advantages / disadvantages you guys see in using an open machine? I have opted for it because i plan to cut large amount of plywood and prefer to just insert the standard size boards instead of always having to cut the plywood beforehand.

Big thanks in advance!!

Jonatan