Newbie To Chinese or not to Chinese, that is the question

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To Chinese or not to Chinese, that is the question

Rainguy

Default To Chinese or not to Chinese, that is the question

Hi Guys,

I'm new here but I've been lurking for a while. I'm in the market for "hobbyist" laser engraver/cutter for my "maker space" but unlike a lot of folk who might be just looking at one to tinker with, I do actually have some applications in mind. For that reason I think I'm going to pump some extra cash into my chosen solution to ensure I can get a UK sourced and supported product. I've got a few 3D printers which I've been operating for a few years and so I'm well used to tinkering and upgrading Chinese supplied solutions but on this occasion I would really like to just be able to plug it in and use it, rather than working through a tonne of issues and trial and error to eventually get it performing how I need it, and then maybe realising I've wasted my money because I should have bought something else.

Specifically I'm looking to cut a range of materials but I'm guessing that my lowest common denominator is going to be 3mm to 5mm ply and acrylic, cleanly in a single pass. No messing around with multiple passes and without excessive burning. Ideally A3 size but A4 would likely suffice, Z axis adjustment would also be nice. Oh, and the moon on a stick too please.

I'd been looking at some of the red and black Chinese 60w lasers, on the basis that I'd get a true 40w continuous cutting performance for a useful amount of time without compromising tube life too much, but I understand that even that might be a tall order.