Singing the K40 upgrade with controller Blues!

Thread: Singing the K40 upgrade with controller Blues!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Singing the K40 upgrade with controller Blues!

I am not a hardware techie and I can only solder just a little bit. I have a k40 laser cutter and want to upgrade the controller. Everywhere I go it seems that I need hardware and software experience to upgrade to any controller, Ramps, Duet, smoothieboard...

Since the K40 is a standard platform, as it were, does anyone know of a plug and play, just drop it in, no programming or building connectors place to get a new controller, or someone who will assemble it for me. I looked at ATTaylor and they cost as much as a new K40, though they have all the features I would like. I looked at Lasersaur and they seem a little limited to cutting.

Thanks in advance,

texas

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Singing the K40 upgrade with controller Blues!

I think the closest you're going to find for this is LightObject.com. They sell a couple of different
    controllers for the K40 as direct replacements, but you're going to have to do some wiring and
    plug in some plugs. Beyond that, I have no idea, and have not heard of anything else.

Patrick

Downloads
    Uploads

There are much cheaper options than mentioned above. First go to the K40 group on google+. You'll find more information about these lasers and upgrade options. A board called the Cohesion 3d mini is nearly plug and play and no more work than any other to install/retrofit. Cohesion 3d has a complete kit with everything you need for $100. They also have instructions on how to install. The software it uses is free. I'm not associated in any way but I did get one of their boards to upgrade my K40. http://cohesion3d.com/

Downloads
    Uploads

It all depends on what you want to do with your machine? Just see it work or cut out some Balsa wood for air plane models, more of a hobbyist.