Just Starting Out.

Thread: Just Starting Out.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Smile Just Starting Out.

Hi Guys!

Hello from across the pond.

I am just starting out and am in need of a bit of general guidance. I am a keen tabletop miniatures hobbyist and have purchased and painted many models over the years.

Currently I purchase and transport them in off shelve containers with a standard load out of Foam (Soft Firmness Open Cell Packing Foam Grey). I find these are both expensive and standard.

I am looking for a suitable Laser CNC System that would be up to the very small job of cutting Soft Firmness Open Cell Packing Foam Grey to a maximum depth of 100mm (common cutting depths will be 25mm,50mm,700mm and maximum of 100mm. Working within a 400mm x 300mm Cutting space. This would allow me to write my own vector paths and make lower cost bespoke foam inserts for my models.

Cost is a big constraint, as I am a hobbyist not a multinational corporation =).

I am a novice to cutting machines and so any help would be greatly appricated!

Kindest Regards

James

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Just Starting Out.

Quote Originally Posted by tkdcogwirrel View Post
    Hi Guys!

Hello from across the pond.

I am just starting out and am in need of a bit of general guidance. I am a keen tabletop miniatures hobbyist and have purchased and painted many models over the years.

Currently I purchase and transport them in off shelve containers with a standard load out of Foam (Soft Firmness Open Cell Packing Foam Grey). I find these are both expensive and standard.

I am looking for a suitable Laser CNC System that would be up to the very small job of cutting Soft Firmness Open Cell Packing Foam Grey to a maximum depth of 100mm (common cutting depths will be 25mm,50mm,700mm and maximum of 100mm. Working within a 400mm x 300mm Cutting space. This would allow me to write my own vector paths and make lower cost bespoke foam inserts for my models.