Newbie Antifreeze in CO2 tube / refraction

Thread: Antifreeze in CO2 tube / refraction

Default Antifreeze in CO2 tube / refraction

I've searched the forum and I didn't find an answer on this.

I am a newbie and bought a used laser engraver that has a CW-3000 chiller and a 60W tube. Sadly, the tube broke when we transported the machine. We've gotten a replacement tube and were putting it in, but the weather has dropped to below freezing. I searched the forum and I see that many people use antifreeze in their chiller/tube. I have 2 questions about this:

1. On the ratio of antifreeze to water, do I consider the amount of ALL the water in the cooler and tube, or just the amount of water that's in the chiller? I don't want to put too much.

2. Does antifreeze affect the laser refraction at all? I read somewhere that the antifreeze will pass in front of the laser.

3. Does anyone have another suggestion as to how we may keep our tube heated when it is below freezing? Our machine is in our shop and all we currently have is a space heater.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Antifreeze in CO2 tube / refraction

Quote Originally Posted by dreamchasertx View Post
    I read somewhere that the antifreeze will pass in front of the laser. .
    Where is this somewhere? What idiot wrote it?

CNC lasers, constructions, service

Here are a few places where that search came up. I searched "antifreeze co2 tube".

Similar Threads:• Chinesse spindle RV antifreeze
    •Need Help!- Should I put antifreeze in the coolant?
    • Water Table Antifreeze
    • Cooling laser tube with antifreeze
    • Antifreeze instead of Dowfrost

Downloads
    Uploads