Problem Cermark engraving gun

Thread: Cermark engraving gun

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Cermark engraving gun

okay, so I'm new to laser engraving, i have a eBay 40 Watt laser and i purchased some cermark so that i could engrave some stuff onto my guns. well i lightly coated the part, turned to full power, and set the speed for 12.50. Wash of the cermark, and the letters and what not are all there, at first i thought it worked, but after i scraped with my nail a couple times, the black lettering came right off???
    Could us some help or advice on what i may be doing wrong or if the laser just isn't strong enough? i got the power/speed ratio setting off of cermark website, so thanks in advance for anyones help!!!!

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Cermark engraving gun

I doubt your 40w laser is much more than 30w. Try increasing the dpi to 1000.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Cermark engraving gun

If i look at the parameter tables for the different cermark products suitable for metal ( TherMark Laser Marking - Laser Settings Charts ) i quickly noticed that the energy density has to be quite less.
    For a 30W laser on steel you have to use 100% power (30W) with a scan speed of 70 in/sec, but 70 in/sec are over 1700mm/sec how the hell could this be done with a chinese ebay laser :-)
    Yes, i might be possible but i doubt that the precision would be real high.
    So i would set the power lower to be able to choose a lower speed, lets say 15% at 600mm/sec.

But in the end you should do test to find out the correct values.

Check this out: (TherMark Laser Marking - CerMark LMM6000 Black Laser Marking Ink for Metal)