Need Help! Brand New Machine suddenly turned off on first usage

Thread: Brand New Machine suddenly turned off on first usage

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Brand New Machine suddenly turned off on first usage

Hello everyone. I am hoping someone can help me out here. I am basically brand new to laser cutting and have just received my first machine, a 65W water-cooled Carbon Dioxide laser table.

I had finished setting up the water pump (with ~7 gallons of distilled water) and confirmed this was working (pumping water into the laser tube, I attached the air compressor and confirmed it was working. I should mention that both of these devices (water pump and compressor) are plugged directly into the machine, into 2 of the 3 power sockets that are available in the back power panel of the laser table. I then powered up the laser with the appropriate switch and was even able to confirm both manual movement of the x/y axes and then fired the laser manually at some cardboard before beginning optical alignment adjustments. After firing the laser several times with the manual "Pulse" button (and getting very excited to see the cardboard being vaporized!).

I then noticed that quite a bit of smoke was building up and decided to connect the extractor fan unit. While the laser machine was on (and laser on, but not firing) I plugged the Chinese "squirrel-box" style extractor fan into the 3rd of the 3 power sockets on the back of the laser table and the whole machine turned off and went dead. I haven't been able to power it up since, neither the laser circuitry or the control circuitry (which have separate power switches). I'm sure that plugging in the fan created too much of a draw but I can't tell if there is some breaker switch that tripped, a fuse that blew or if I overloaded / fried something on the power board.