Newbie Just took the plunge with a cheap Chinese laser - where do I start

Thread: Just took the plunge with a cheap Chinese laser - where do I start

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Just took the plunge with a cheap Chinese laser - where do I start

Hi all,

I'm new to this whole world of CNC lasers so forgive me for asking stupid questions.

I've just ordered a cheap Chinese laser from eBay (the 40W cheap one. K40's I believe most people call them). I know they've generally got a bad rep, but I'm just a hobbyist and don't have much money. I've done my research and I'm happy with the awful software it comes with and the possibility of having to repair it a lot. Fingers crossed it'll work well and arrive without damage.

My main question is sourcing materials to use it with. I'm planning on making various things out of wood and pretty coloured acrylic but where do I buy these things? I'm guessing when it says it cuts ply-wood it means any type of ply? But why do I see adverts for "laser-ply". Is it different in some way? Also, with acrylic, it seems like the prices vary immensely. One company selling A4 sheets for £1 others for £6. And can it cut all acrylics? I'm having trouble finding the answers with google and cnczone searches. Maybe my search skills need improving.

So, can anyone tell me if I need special ply and special acrylic or will anything do? Even better, can anyone suggest a supplier of these in the UK that are cheap?

Thanks,
    Max

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Just took the plunge with a cheap Chinese laser - where do I start

where in the UK? if in the south west I can offer some help

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I'm in the Birmingham area, unfortunately.

Downloads
    Uploads

Hello MrMaxP