How do I clean melted acrylic residue off engraving table?

Thread: How do I clean melted acrylic residue off engraving table?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How do I clean melted acrylic residue off engraving table?

Lol, my title says it all. I'm a total engraver newbie, and was cutting a jig through a plexiglas sheet, and didn't know you had to raise the plexiglas off the engraving table (our laser salesperson didn't say it was needed ... he said I could cut it directly on the surface!) ... but now there's acrylic residue on the engraving table (the pieces were stuck to it, we had to kind of pry them off).

Can anyone reassure me that it'll be ok, and maybe let me know how to get it off? One suggestion I found online said lighter fluid would dissolve the acrylic, and I tried it but it didn't work. Are there other suggestions?

Thanks!

Lara

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How do I clean melted acrylic residue off engraving table?

Lighter fluid is pretty benign stuff. I would soak in acetone myself.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thank you! I'm so worried about damaging the engraver, and I do this right off. I hope I never have to cut acrylic again, that's for sure ... that smell will haunt me (it was ok when it was running with the exhaust on, but when I opened the lid, yikes!). And then it was stuck down. Sigh. Not my day, engraver-wise. Luckily my bosses are very very nice. And they were there when the salesperson said I could cut it directly on the table.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Can you remove the table bed from the machine? If so I would recommend before using cleaning products, you don't want to start getting any residues on the lenses or mirrors.