Need Help! Deciding what to get

Thread: Deciding what to get

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Deciding what to get

Hey guys,

First post here. Being browsing this site for quite some time now and have started looking into laser engraving. As a hobbyist i've been meaning to engrave some titanium(Ti-6Al-4V) for myself. Has anyone have any experiences with titanium? How much watt would i need? And what type of laser? I've heard from others its close to stainless steel and Co2 laser with Cermark. Also what about the lens? If someone could kindly enough to steer me to the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hiya Spoofy,

If you want to do any decent engraving on Ti get a Yag, expensive and limited in what they can do but the only real choice for engraving metal.

A few questions though:

Where are you in the world?

What budget are you looking at?

How much space do you have?

What sort of space do you have ? (Industrial unit, living room, garage etc)

best wishes

Dave

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Exsecratio View Post
    Hiya Spoofy,

If you want to do any decent engraving on Ti get a Yag, expensive and limited in what they can do but the only real choice for engraving metal.

A few questions though:

Where are you in the world?

What budget are you looking at?

How much space do you have?

What sort of space do you have ? (Industrial unit, living room, garage etc)

best wishes

Dave
    Thanks Dave for the fast reply.

Currently in Canada.

Not too sure about the budget yet i wouldn't need a machine thats too big.

Most likely in my garage, would just be a hobby.

I've looked at Yag, but I would like to use other materials as well in the future. I was wondering if anyone have gotten good results with Cermark and co2 on ti

Last edited by spoofy; 07-04-2013 at 04:58 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

@spoofy,