Complete newbie, looking for hobby laser, reasonable requirements.

Thread: Complete newbie, looking for hobby laser, reasonable requirements.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Complete newbie, looking for hobby laser, reasonable requirements.

I'm a hobbyist (with probably more money than sense) and recently got very interested in laser engraver / cutter due to a Kickstarter I recently saw done by Full Spectrum Lasers. However, I did my due dilligence and I'm not exactly so enthusiastic anymore.

I recently bought a 3D printer (photolithography style, not extrusion style), have a mini-mill and mini lathe (Sherline brand), comfortable with a soldering iron. However, I also live in an apartment, so weight and space is a bit of a concern. I have a spare bedroom for all my "junk"

I am liking at about 40w CO2 laser, preferably with a decent work area, weighing less than 100 lbs, preferably. No particular requirements except that it costs <$3000 or so, reasonable support, available replacement parts without too much hassle. I'm not sure what is the largest object I'll work on, but bigger is better if affordable. I can do basic to intermediate fixes, but rather not have to rebuild any machine due to its deficiencies.

Options:
    1) FSL laser. Pros: good work area, cons after-purchase support?
    Affordable 20"x12" LASER Cutter / Engraver, Assembled in USA by Full Spectrum Laser — Kickstarter
    2) Hurricane Storm Allison 40W 12x12 Laser. Pro: cost, support. Cons: small work area.
    40W CO2 Laser 12 x12
    3) various Chinese 40w laser. Pros: good value. Cons: so-so software, build quality.
    After-care support hit or miss.
    4) your suggestion?

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Check out Legacy lasers,