What is best for Artistic Milling

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is best for Artistic Milling

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default What is best for Artistic Milling

Hi,

First off I want to say I have been browsing around the forums for a couple of days and its amazing all the information there is here.

However, I haven't really found an answer to my question..

I'm an artist/sculptor working mostly digitally, I have traditionally used 3d printing to bring make my work physical, but lately I have become increasingly curious about milling and the possibilities it offers. I have also become more and more disappointed with what 3d printing has been able to do for me in regards to hype vs actual results.

What interests me about CNC milling is the possibility of having a nearly finished piece right out of the mill, in a material that I would consider sellable, such as wood or metal, with only minor finishing steps done after the milling (ie. applying lacker for wood or anodizing for aluminum).

I am thinking of taking my first plunge into milling and getting a first machine. Looking at entry level systems I have seen kits like the shapeoko 3 or other machines like the nomad 883, carvey (which apparently hasn't shipped yet) which look 'mainstream' and are relatively cheap and others like the TechnoCNC bench top mill, Roland MDX 40 or 540, or even an entry level Tormach which might appear more specialized but look to have really nice features.

The software is another component which I am unsure about, as I mostly work with full 3d .STL files, and I have heard it may or may not be an easy feat to use these for milling. And it seems each machine offers their own software which can make this easier to do.

I know that CNC milling has inherent limitations in regards to part complexity as opposed to 3d printing, but I believe I have several pieces that are millable, and I would like to try to do them in these different materials that CNC offers.