Plasma - Magnetic Breakaway Mach3 Settings

Thread: Plasma - Magnetic Breakaway Mach3 Settings

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Plasma - Magnetic Breakaway Mach3 Settings

I'm currently putting together a plasma machine, and we're including a magnetic breakaway to protect the torch. Machine is run off a laptop running Mach3, using a USB Smoothstepper.

This is my first time including a magnetic breakaway. I originally thought to program it as an e-stop in the Mach3 Pins & Ports/Input signals. Or is there another common way to set up the breakaway? It is simply a Normally Closed switch that activates when the torch holder breaks off.

Appreciate any input.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Plasma - Magnetic Breakaway Mach3 Settings

Are you triggering your plasma torch manually? because in a typical CNC plasma machine it will plunge on the material then there`s some magnetic switches to activate when the torch holder with springs gets lifted, then it backs up (torch height controller) then triggers the plasma machine then fine tunes the height to it`s optimum amperage (amp sensor in the plasma machine in conjunction with the torch height controller module) on the plasma machine then that`s the time it will move to the program path.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

We're using Ohmic sensing for initial height sense. I used to use floating head, but decided to move to Ohmic.

But I don't see how this affects the magnetic breakaway. This is just as a safety mechanism, which must switch off the machine when the switch is activated (torch breaks away when it hits an object).

Downloads
    Uploads